Archives

How to Make a Sensational Scrap Buster Spring Hair Bow

If you’re like me and work with ribbon, I’ll bet you have a stash of ends. Those pieces that are short, but too pretty to toss. This spring hair bow is a scrap buster!! So retrieve all those little ribbon pieces, and let’s get started.Scrap Buster Spring Hair Bow

Supplies for the Spring Hair Bow

scrap buster hair bow

Instructions for Making to Scrap Buster Spring Hair Bow

  1. Cut the ribbons to length. Cut angles at each end. Quickly pass the ribbon ends through a flame since it will seal the ribbon.Cut and Fuse Ribbon Ends
  2. Make the corkscrew ribbon:
    • Spiral a 10″ to 12″ length of ribbon around a large knitting needle or ¼” dowel rod.
    • Secure the ribbon ends with pinch clothes pins.Prepare Corkscrew Ribbons
    • Mist lightly with water.
    • Bake in the oven at 250° F for 20 minutes.Bake at 250 for 20 Minutes
    • After the ribbons are cool, gently slide off the knitting needle or dowel
  3. Fold the bow wire in half and put in the Mini Bowdabra. Tuck the ends of the wire under the Mini Bowdabra to keep them out of the way.Wire in Mini Bowdabra
  4. Start with the widest and longest ribbons, and make a two-loop bow.Layer Widest Ribbon in Mini Bowdabra
  5. Continue layering the ribbons, using progressively narrower ribbons and shorter lengths.Continue Layering Ribbons
  6. End with the corkscrew ribbons.scrap buster hair bow
  7. Compress the ribbons in the Mini Bowdabra with the wand.Compress Ribbons in Mini Bowdabra
  8. With the ribbons still in the Mini Bowdabra, pass the wire ends through the loop, tighten, then tie a secure knot.Pass Wire Ends through Loop
Finishing your hair bow
  1. Bring the wire ends to the back of the bow and tie a secure knot. In addition leave the wire end uncut for now.
  2. Fluff the bow to expose each length of ribbon.Fluff Bow
  3. With one wire end extending to each side, use hot glue to secure one end of a narrow length of ribbon in place on the back of the bow with the wires under it.scrap buster hair bow
  4. Bring the narrow ribbon to the front of the bow and secure in place with hot glue.
  5. On the back of the bow, open the hair clip, pass the ribbon through it, and glue in place. Trim excess ribbon and wire ends.Hair Clip in Place
  6. Enjoy!!Scrap Buster Spring Hair Bow (Instagram)

Be sure and visit Bowdabra blog for more amazing and easy tutorials, video DIY’s  for more adorable hair bows.  

And don’t forgete each Monday at 7:00 p.m. EST, 6:00 p.m. CST, 5:00 p.m. MST, and 4:00 p.m. PST. when we video DIY on Facebook live.  Every week one lucky viewer will win a roll of scrunchy ribbon.

Download FREE Bowdabra App

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *