Archives

How to Upcycle a Cheese Grater for new Life as a Chic Towel Holder

You know that box cheese grater that’s gotten pushed to the back of a kitchen cabinet? Well, dig it out. We’re going to upcycle a cheese grater and transform it into a farmhouse chic towel holder.Upcycled Cheese Grater

Supplies

Supplies for upcycle cheese grater

  • 12″ length 3¼” lace ribbon
  • 21″ length 1″ satin ribbon
  • 8″ length 1″ satin ribbon
  • 18″ length 5/8″ satin ribbon
  • 3″ length 5/8″ satin ribbon
  • 24″ length Bowdabra Bow Wire
  • Mini Bowdabra
  • Box grater (cheese grater)
  • Hot glue

Instructions for Upcycled Cheese Grater

  1. First, cut the ribbons to length, and quickly pass the ribbon ends through a flame since it will seal the ribbon.
  2. Next, fold the bow wire in half and put it in the Mini Bowdabra. Tuck the ends of the wire under the Mini Bowdabra to keep them out of the way.Wire in Mini Bowdabra
  3. Then, center the lace ribbon in the Mini Bowdabra.Lace Tails
  4. Next, center the 8″ length of satin ribbon in the Mini Bowdabra.Satin Ribbon Tails
  5. Then, place one end of the 21″ length of satin ribbon in the Mini Bowdabra and make a four-loop bow.Four Loop Bow
  6. Then, make a second four-loop bow with the 18″ length of satin ribbon.Second Bow
  7. Next, compress the ribbons in the Mini Bowdabra with the wand.Compress Ribbons
  8. And with the ribbons still in the Mini Bowdabra, pass the wire ends through the loop and tighten.Pass Wire Ends through Loops
  9. Bring the wire ends to the back of the bow and tie a secure knot, however, leave the wire end uncut for now.
  10. With one wire end extending to each side of the back of the bow, use a dot of hot glue to secure one end of the 3″ length of ribbon in place on the back of the bow with the wires under it. Wrap around the bow once and secure the end on the back with another dot of hot glue. Trim any excess ribbon.Hot Glue Center Wrap
  11. Use the long wire ends to additionally secure the bow to the bottom of the grater.
  12. Use the grater handle as a towel holder.Upcycle Cheese Grater Handle
  13. Optional: Insert glass or vase in the grater so that you can easily add flowers or wooden spoons, spatulas, etc.Upcylced Cheese Grater (Instagram)

Be sure and visit Bowdabra on Facebook each Monday at 7:00 p.m. EST, 6:00 p.m. CST, 5:00 p.m. MST, and 4:00 p.m. PST for live video tutorials.  Each week one especially lucky person will win a special gift!  If you are looking for more  upcycled projects and crafts be sure and check out Bowdabra Blog.  

Download FREE Bowdabra App

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *