Archives

How to make an amazing extra-large loopy bow

In this quick video DIY you will learn how to make an extra-large loopy bow in minutes using the Bowdabra.  The Mini Bowdabra makes this satin bow so easy to make.  Satin ribbon may be hard to work with at times but not with the Bowdabra!

extra-large loopy bow

Make this gorgeous professional-looking bow for proms, weddings, cheerleading, or as special gifts for friends and family.

How to make an extra-large loopy bow

Materials:

Mini Bowdabra

Hair bow tool and ruler attachment

Bowdabra bow wire

54 inches of satin ribbon

Lighter to seal the edges or optionally clear nail polish

Instructions:

First, cut a piece of Bowdabra bow wire.  Fold it in half and insert it into the Bowdabra.  Tuck the ends underneath to stay out of the way while you make your bow.

Next, fold your ribbon in half to find the center point.  Then create a mountain-up fold to make nice creases in your bow.  Begin making 2 ½” loops on each side for a 5-inch bow.  Continue making loops until you have 8 loops.

Use the Bowdabra wand to push the loops down as you work.

Now insert the loose wire through the loop and pull tight while the bow is still in the Bowdabra.  Turn it to the back and tie a knot.

To Finish your loopy bow, add an alligator clip lined with ribbon. Secure with hot glue or glue dots.

Optional:  To hide the wire on the front add a knotted piece of alternate color satin ribbon with a glue gun or glue dot.

Don’t forget to join us each Monday at 4:00 p.m. PST, 5:00 p.m. MST, 6:00 p.m. CST, and 7:00 p.m. EST for Facebook live.  Each week Sandy Sandler, the creator of the Bowdabra will show you several quick and easy projects to make with the Bowdabra.  One lucky viewer will win a roll of ribbon.  You could be the next winner!

 

 

Download FREE Bowdabra App

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *