Archives

Kid’s craft – How to upcycle a styrofoam plate into a stunning flower

styrofoam plate flowers

Upcycle a styrofoam plate into a stunning flower with a few easy steps! Kids will love making these to give to their mothers or special friends. Make a bunch of styrofoam flowers for the perfect Mother’s Day bouquet. Bowdabra designer, Gail takes you through the easy steps in this kid’s craft DIY.

You will need:


Styrofoam containers or plates (thin)
Scissors
Ruler
Glue
Floral stem wire
Floral tape
Tiny pom pom

How to turn a styrofoam plate into a stunning flower


Instructions:  Let’s start by cutting out the flat areas from styrofoam plates. You will need styrofoam that’s thin and flexible and not thick and hard. You don’t want it to crack.

Then measure the circle into 1 1/2″ widths . . .

using a ruler and skewer to mark the area and . . .

then cut out the pieces straight . . .

including the ends for straight edges.

The longer the pieces, the fuller the flower.

Next, cut narrow slits in the strips leaving a border.

Apply glue along the border . . .

placing the stem wire on top along the edge.

styrofoam plate into a stunning flower

Begin rolling the stem wire and styrofoam together along the edge . . .

all the way to the end. Secure bottom with floral tape and continue wrapping stem wire with the floral tape.

styrofoam plate into a stunning flower

Then, find the center of the foam slits, flaring them out for the flower. Now, press center down on work surface to spread out . . .

styrofoam plate into a stunning flower

Then glue on a tiny pom pom in the center.

styrofoam plate into a stunning flower

Have fun making many more styrofoam flowers to display in a vase or . . .

styrofoam plate flowers

give as a bouquet!

styrofoam plate flowers

If you loved upcycling a styrofoam plate into a stunning flower you will find many more amazing DIYs, videos, kid’s crafts, and more on the Bowdabra Blog.  Please like us on Facebook too! Each Monday Bowdabra hosts Facebook live at 4:00 p.m. PST, 5:00 p.m. MST, 6:00 p.m. CST, and 7:00 p.m. EST.  Every week, one lucky viewer will win a special gift!

Download FREE Bowdabra App

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Bow Making Tools Payment Process
Bowdabra 100% Trusted Bow Maker Tools
Our Promise
to You
USPS Shipping - Bowdabra Bow Maker Tools
USPS Best Way
Shipping
Bowdabra Security - Best Bow Maker Tools & Bow Mega Kits
Secure
Information
By using our website, you consent to our use of cookies as described in our cookie policy. You can withdraw your consent at any time. Learn more