Archives

Learn how to easily beautify a straw hat with Bowdabra

Hi everyone, Steph Ackerman teaching you how to easily beautify a straw hat with the Bowdabra.

beautify a straw hat

Beautify a straw hat with Bowdabra

Supplies:

Bowdabra Bow Maker
Bow Wire
Ribbons
Straw Hat

Instructions:

It’s summer and that means fun hats to wear all summer long.  Keep the sun off your face with a wide-brimmed straw hat.  It’s lightweight and adds just the right flair!

First cut a piece of Bowdabra bow wire.  Then, fold it in half and insert it into the Bowdabra.  You will have a loop on one side and two loose wires on the other side.  This will serve as your slipknot. Tuck the end under to stay out of the way while you are making your bow.

Now, working with 2 different ribbons, cut 12″ lengths and place them in the channel.

Holding the ribbons together, create the loops, twisting the ribbons as you pass through the channel.  Be sure to hold both ribbons tightly so they stay aligned.

Create graduating-sized loops, then, use the Bowdabra wand to push the loops into the Bowdabra.

beautify a straw hat

Pull up on the bow wire and tie off. Turn to the back and tie a knot.

Arrange your bow.  Gently pull apart the bow layers and fluff.

beautify a straw hat

To finish, punch 2 holes in the hat, and, using the bow wire, tie the bow to the hat.

Fluff out the bow some more, continuing to pull apart the layers of the ribbon.
This adds more depth to the bow.

Thanks for stopping by.

Please like us on Facebook. Each Monday at 4:00 p.m. PST, 5:00 p.m. MST, 6:00 p.m. CST, and 7:00 p.m. EST Bowdabra features Facebook live.  Be there and you could be our next winner of a roll of ribbon!

 

Download FREE Bowdabra App

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Bow Making Tools Payment Process
Bowdabra 100% Trusted Bow Maker Tools
Our Promise
to You
USPS Shipping - Bowdabra Bow Maker Tools
USPS Best Way
Shipping
Bowdabra Security - Best Bow Maker Tools & Bow Mega Kits
Secure
Information
By using our website, you consent to our use of cookies as described in our cookie policy. You can withdraw your consent at any time. Learn more